Of miami, music, and tight jeans

18Apr08

Several weeks ago, I went to the Winter Music Conference in Miami and my life changed.

I had never been to WMC before, but I came out alive… barely. I arrived on Wednesday night and ignored my earlier decision to ease into it. I got wasted and thrown out of Space for having too much fun. Those motherfuckers have my camera.

Aiming for redemption, I went over to the Raleigh on Thursday afternoon for the Scion pool party and got there just as Jokers of the Scene were tearing it up. FYI, JOTS have some of the nastiest, chopped up music around, and their shit dropping in ’08 will be absolutely huge. Erol Alkan played the most unique and musically interesting set I’ve probably ever heard. Boys Noize destroyed it – I was eating some delicious mussels and fries when he started dropping NRG and some Prodigy. For the finale at sunset, Digitalism played a high-energy live set. They played some new stuff and I can’t wait until they come out with a new album. Steve Aoki left his records behind – they’re on their way, but they’re nothing special. Here’s a couple tracks off one of the CD’s.

Larry Tee – I Love U (The Bulgarian Edit)

Larry Tee ft. Princess Superstar – Licky (Act Yo Age Refixx)

Before the Raleigh, my friends and I went to Nikki Beach for Juicy Beach and dropped $80 to get in. It was way too plastic & juice in there. So, after meeting Willie Morales, we scored some special wristbands that would give us re-entry. Peace to the Raleigh. Around 9pm, we returned to Nikki to see huge stagnant lines. We went upstairs to catch DJ Dan & Donald Glaude destroy a set. Mr. Glaude was really cool and put up with a lot of our drunken banter. Deadmau5 played some typical dark tech stuff. Once the tab reached $400, we decided it was time to split and head back to the hotel.

Donald Glaude – Thank Glaude It’s Miami (Vol. 1)

Getting a late start on Friday, I ambled back over to the Raleigh to catch the tail-end of the iheartcomix superheroes rocking it. Fun stuff. Surkin‘s equipment blew up, adding a little bit of confusion to the fact that Chromeo just showed up. Chill dudes – they’ll be starting work on a new album this summer. According to P-Thugg, it will have a sound like their track “Needy Girl”. Sweet. They gave me the heads up to the most rediculous party I would see all week – the Fool’s Gold Showcase – but I’ll get to that in a bit. ParaOne also killed it, btw.

Head over to the Ultra Music Festival. I caught a bit of everything: Eric Prydz, Justice, MSTRKRFT, BT, Tiesto. I was mostly disappointed, but enjoying the energy of tens of thousands of people, if you know what I mean.

Afterwards, the real party began.

No Responses Yet to “Of miami, music, and tight jeans”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

